The Breakfast Club of Tuskawilla

Front sign

TEDDY’s RATING: 

Whenever I can, I like to promote small businesses. There used to be a small Greek restaurant that I frequented that closed earlier this year. A great disappointment. But recently, the location was reopened as a breakfast/lunch restaurant called The Breakfast Club of Tuskawilla. I was anxious to give it a try.

IMG_6451They have a pretty extensive menu which includes waffles, pancakes, crepes, omelets, sandwiches, salads, burgers, and melts. And they have several daily specials for under $5.00 each. I had the chicken pecan salad. It was piled high with chunks of white meat chicken, bacon, tomatoes, pecans, cheese and dressed with a warm honey Dijon dressing. It also includes avocado, but I’m not partial to that, so I asked that it be left out.

There were a couple of little snafus while we were there, (waffle maker broken, misprint on menu, server forgot to bring out silverware) but I chalk it up to the fact that they just recently opened. And I really can’t complain too much because the manager/owner, Raj Dua, a super friendly, understanding guy, a guy who knows how to keep his customers happy, was there to take care of everything. He sat down at our table and talked to us, asking how he couldInside improve his business. He even gave us a voucher for two free breakfasts. Thanks, Raj.

Raj owns four breakfast restaurants in the various suburbs of North Orlando. In addition to The Breakfast Club of Tuskawilla, there’s also one in Casselberry and Maitland. And he owns Country Kitchen in Longwood.

UPDATE: We had intended to give this restaurant three paws, but after a second visit, we had to cut it down to two. The daily special on my second visit was an open faced meatloaf sandwich with mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. I was aghast to see the plate come out literally enrobed in gravy. Enough gravy for several plates. And the potatoes were not real. They were made from freeze dried flakes. You can taste the difference. I was truly disappointed with this meal and unfortunately, I don’t plan to eat here again.

Dates of Visit:  December 2012

If you enjoyed this post, you might like my other blog:  http://ilovebritishtv.com

Categories: Eat, Florida | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Breakfast Club of Tuskawilla

  1. Linda

    I didn’t like it either, but as you know I’m really picky! When I went I ordered the home fries. They were loaded with spices, especially cumin, which I hate. They made new ones for me but I think they were trying to get them out fast so they threw them in the deep frier. They were really greasy! Won’t go back either.

  2. The meatloaf looked gray and unappealing. It looked like it came from pre-processed meats. There was no taste to it. The server never asked if I wanted gravy. When served, it was slathered in a brown gooey substance which they evidently pass off as gravy.

    I had a couple of okay breakfast meals there. The coffee was fine. In addition, they did make me a good Rubin sandwich a couple of times. I also had a good burger there.

    On another occasion they we were told that the soup of the day was whatever we wanted in a cream base. We never heard of a “what ever you wish soup” before. We passed on that.

    We too have given up on the place. There are other restaurants around which offer much better food. We decided not to waste our money on unappetizing mystery meat and do it yourself soups.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

